# FY 2027 IRF Final Rule: 36-Hour Therapy Start and 4-Day Team Meeting Requirements

> CMS's FY 2027 inpatient rehabilitation facility rule updates payment rates, ends the rural adjustment phaseout, and sets deadlines for starting therapy and holding the first interdisciplinary team meeting.

SmartMeet Desk · 2026-10-06 · https://blog.smartmeet.myipms.app/fy-2027-irf-final-rule-36-hour-therapy-start-and-4-day-team-meeting-requirements

On August 3, 2026, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) published a final rule, Federal Register document 2026-15652, updating the prospective payment system (PPS) for inpatient rehabilitation facilities (IRFs) for federal fiscal year (FY) 2027 [1]. Alongside the annual rate update, the rule sets two timing requirements for care delivery: therapy must begin within 36 hours of midnight on the day of admission, and the initial interdisciplinary team meeting must occur within 4 days of admission [1].

## What the rule does

The Federal Register summary lists these components [1]:

- **Rate update.** It updates IRF prospective payment rates for FY 2027 and, as required by statute, includes the classification and weighting factors for the IRF PPS case-mix groups, together with a description of the methods and data used to compute the rates [1].
- **Rural adjustment.** It finalizes the third and final year of a 3-year phaseout of the rural adjustment, which began in FY 2025 [1].
- **Wage index.** It solicits public comments on alternative data sources for the IRF PPS wage index [1].
- **Therapy timing.** It requires all therapy treatments and/or therapy evaluations to begin no later than 36 hours from midnight on the day of admission [1].
- **Team meeting timing.** It finalizes a requirement that the initial Interdisciplinary Team (IDT) meeting occur on or before 4 days from the date the patient is admitted [1].
- **Payment reform.** It summarizes a request for information on potential future IRF PPS payment reform [1].
- **Quality reporting and DMEPOS.** It updates the IRF Quality Reporting Program (QRP) and changes the Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) Competitive Bidding Program [1].

## Who it affects

The rule's payment and timing provisions concern IRFs paid under the IRF PPS, and the rural adjustment phaseout concerns facilities that have received that adjustment [1]. The rule also changes the DMEPOS Competitive Bidding Program, but the summary does not describe which suppliers are affected or how [1].

## The two timing requirements

According to the summary's wording, the therapy period is measured from midnight on the day of admission rather than from the time the patient arrives [1]. The summary does not explain the counting convention in further detail, so facilities should confirm it in the full rule text before revising admission workflows [1]. The requirement covers "therapy treatments and/or therapy evaluations," and the full rule should be consulted for how each discipline's first session is treated [1].

The IDT requirement is phrased as "on or before 4 days from the date the patient is admitted" [1]. The summary does not state whether the admission date counts as day zero or day one, and that detail determines the last permissible meeting date [1].

## Dates that matter

- **August 3, 2026:** publication of the final rule in the Federal Register [1].
- **FY 2027:** the payment year to which the updated rates and case-mix weighting factors apply [1].
- **FY 2025 to FY 2027:** the span of the rural adjustment phaseout, with FY 2027 as its final year [1].

The summary does not state an effective date for the therapy and IDT requirements or a deadline for wage index comments, so both should be confirmed in the full document [1].

## What a practice should check

- Confirm, from the full rule, exactly how the 36-hour and 4-day periods are counted [1].
- Identify who arranges the first therapy treatment or evaluation and the initial IDT meeting at admission, so that both can occur within the periods the rule sets [1].
- For facilities that have received the rural adjustment, plan for FY 2027 as the final phaseout year [1].
- Review the QRP updates in the full rule for any new or changed reporting obligations [1].
- Decide whether to respond to the wage index data solicitation, and note the payment reform request for information as an indication that CMS is considering future changes [1].
- DMEPOS suppliers should review the Competitive Bidding Program changes directly [1].

## Context: other federal health actions this summer

On July 27, 2026, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission proposed amendments to reduce barriers to licensing for the medical use of byproduct material, in response to Executive Order 14300 [2]. On July 16, 2026, CMS issued a request for information on updating the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) regulations, covering topics including breath testing and cybersecurity [3].

## Limitations

This brief is based on the Federal Register summary of the rule, which gives no payment rates, percentage updates, case-mix weights, quality measure names, effective dates or comment deadlines [1]. Facilities should rely on the full rule text, not this summary, for operational and financial decisions [1].

## References

1. federalregister.gov. Medicare Program; Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility Prospective Payment System for Federal Fiscal Year 2027 and Updates to the IRF Quality Reporting Program. Accessed October 6, 2026. https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/08/03/2026-15652/medicare-program-inpatient-rehabilitation-facility-prospective-payment-system-for-federal-fiscal
2. federalregister.gov. Reducing Barriers to Medical Use Licensing. Accessed October 6, 2026. https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/07/27/2026-15080/reducing-barriers-to-medical-use-licensing
3. federalregister.gov. Request for Information; Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) Regulations. Accessed October 6, 2026. https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/07/16/2026-14358/request-for-information-clinical-laboratory-improvement-amendments-of-1988-clia-regulations
